Skip to main content

What happens to email messages I have deleted?

Email messages that you delete in Outlook are moved to the Deleted Items folder. They will stay there until you empty that folder. The easiest way to empty messages from Deleted Items is to RIGHT click on the folder and select "Empty Folder." Refer to the screen capture for guidance. 

Once messages are emptied from the Deleted Items folder, they are gone forever.

Outlook Deleted Items folder